Close menu


“Key Stage 1 is the legal term for the two years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales normally known as Year 1 and Year 2, when pupils are aged between 5 and 7. This Key Stage normally covers pupils during infant school, although in some cases this might form part of a first or primary school.”

You can find more information about the Key Stage 1 Programmes of Study here.


At St Oswald’s we operate a 2 year topic cycle which has been chosen by the children and is linked to their interests.

20162017 curriculum cycle overview Key Stage 1

At St Oswald’s we pride ourselves on the way in which our Personal, Social, Emotional  and relationship education underpins our teaching across the whole school.

The documents below highlight the  way in which we teach PSHE in our school. They are done on a cyclical basis and are underpinned by the schools core values.

PSHRE Long term Plan Cycle A

PSHRE Long term Plan Cycle B

The Children are taught about Sex and Relationships whilst they are at St Oswald’s. The Policy and Scheme of Work which we use to teach this can be found below.

RSE Relationship and Sex Education. Primarydocx

Translate this website....